Biography of Mehbooba Mufti | Mehbooba Mufti Biography in Hindi

Mehbooba Mufti is an Indian politician and the 13th Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir and the first woman in the state. Before Mehbooba Mufti, in 1980, Syeda Anwara Taimur became the first Muslim Chief Minister of the state of Assam. Thus she is the second Muslim Chief Minister of any state in the country.

Mehbooba Mufti Biography in Hindi

Mehbooba Mufti was born on 22 May 1959 in Anantnag district of Bijbehara. His father’s name is ‘Mohammed Mufti Syed’ and his mother’s name is ‘Gulshan Nazir’. Mehbooba Mufti obtained her LLB degree from Kashmir University. She divorced her husband before becoming a part of active politics.

Mehbooba Mufti took oath as the 13th Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir on 4 April 2016. With taking oath, Mehbooba Mufti became the first woman to head the government in Jammu and Kashmir and the second Muslim woman chief minister of any state in India. Mehbooba Mufti was a well-known leader of the Congress Legislature Party Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly from 1996 to 1999. She was a member of the Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly for two terms from 1996 to 1999 and from 2002 to 2004. When Mehbooba Mufti secured her victory in the Bijbehara Legislative Assembly of Jammu and Kashmir for a Congress seat. For this reason, it was seen leading the opposition in the assembly during the time of Farooq Abdullah for 5 years.

Mehbooba Mufti is the first woman who is an active part of politics from Jammu and Kashmir and is also a well known face. His political debut was with the Congress party, but due to mutual differences, his father decided to break away from the Congress and formed the Jammu and Kashmir People Democratic Party. Then in the year 1999, she resigned from the Congress for her assembly seat and was made the Vice President of the Jammu and Kashmir People Democratic Party. In 1999, he contested his parliamentary election from Srinagar against Omar Abdullah, but he had to face defeat in it. But in the 2002 Rajya Sabha elections, he won the Pahalgam seat against Ahmed Mir in South Kashmir.

Mehbooba Mufti was appointed to the 14th Lok Sabha in the year 2004, was elected the President of the Jammu and Kashmir People’s Democratic Party in 2009. Mehbooba Mufti won the Anantnag-Pulwama seat for the next 5 year term in the elections held in 2014 by defeating ‘Mirza Mehboob Baig’ of National Conference with a margin of 44 Thousand 735 votes. The political weather in Jammu and Kashmir changed with the backdrop of alleged mismanagement of the recent devastation caused by floods in the state by the ‘Omar Abdullah’ government, which Mohammad Mufti Syed’s People’s Democratic Party took advantage of and contested the upcoming elections. By tying up with the BJP, his party won the victory and got the chief minister’s post. The party won 3 out of 6 Lok Sabha seats in the 2014 general elections. Mufti Mohammad Sayeed, the former chief minister of the princely state, passed away on 7 January 2016. After his death, Mehbooba Mufti took over the reins of the PDP and formed the government in the princely state in alliance with the BJP. Mehbooba Mufti is known for her hardline political behavior.

No Comments, Be The First!

Your email address will not be published.